A rubric tool to assess, plan and evaluate communication outcomes.

This assessment tool helps you to create individual profiles of communicative competence for your students, clients or child. Use it to map progress, see next steps and plan goals for individuals with disabilities and communication challenges.

It also has the added function of grouping data so that you can collate and compare group and whole school/service data. 

The ROCC is now available. 

Who is it for? 
The ROCC is used in special education, whole disability services or practices who aim to improve communication. Individuals can also use it to measure progress across time. 
The ROCC covers 10 key areas of communicative competence across 5 levels.

1. Symbolic language - body movements through to symbols, speech and spelling

2. Initiation of communication

3. Intelligibility

4. Understand their communication system as their voice.

5. Complexity of message.

6. Range of intentions/functions

7. Responsibility for access to their system at all times.

8. Confidence and resilience

9. Socialisation

10. Strategic competence.

Each area has an ultimate goal relating to competence in that area and descriptive levels rating from emergent to competent. 
Data about the individual's system is also collected to measure changes across time and to collate statistics such as: 
- type of primary communication system
- number of items per page
- the various modes used by the individual
- software and hardware variations across the group 
- access modality - direct, scanning, eye gaze, etc
The system data can be used by a school to prioritise funding, plan training, or allocate resources. 
More information to come as the ROCC online tool is finalised.